Email marketing software free trials: six compared
Six email marketing tools offer a free trial, and every one runs 14 days: MailerLite, Mailchimp, Kit (formerly ConvertKit), ActiveCampaign, GetResponse and Constant Contact. Five of their pricing pages say no credit card is required. ActiveCampaign's says only that you sign up with an email address.
| Tool | Trial length | Card needed | What the trial covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| MailerLite | 14 days | No card | Premium features, up to 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails |
| Mailchimp | 14 days | No card | Sends up to 100 emails until a card is saved |
| Kit | 14 days | No card | Paid plans; migrations are free on paid plans |
| ActiveCampaign | 14 days | Email sign-up; card rule not stated | Not stated; no free plan on its pricing page |
| GetResponse | 14 days | No card | Not stated; no US-dollar price on its page |
| Constant Contact | 14 days | No card | Not stated; 30-day money-back guarantee once you pay |
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.
Start a 14-day MailerLite trial →What MailerLite's 14-day trial includes and leaves out
MailerLite gives every new account a 14-day trial of premium features, meaning features of its paid plans, and asks for no payment method. During the trial you can add up to 250 subscribers and send up to 2,500 emails. It unlocks features from both Comfort and Power, such as multiple automation triggers, paid newsletters and landing page A/B testing.
Seven paid features stay out of the trial: unlimited sending, unlimited users, custom domains, custom user permissions, logo removal, your own landing page template and a dedicated IP. A list over 250 subscribers does not fit in it. Keeping premium features after the trial means paying: Comfort is $12 a month, billed monthly at 500 subscribers, as read on October 6, 2026. The MailerLite free plan page covers what stays free afterward.
Mailchimp and Kit trials
Mailchimp's pricing page shows a free 14-day trial on its Essentials and Standard cards, with no credit card required. Until a card is saved, the trial sends up to 100 emails. Mailchimp also has a free plan for under 250 contacts, with a cap of 500 emails a month or 250 a day. MailerLite vs Mailchimp compares the paid plans.
Kit's pricing page lists a 14-day free trial with no credit card and free migrations. The migrations cover paid plans. Kit's Free plan holds up to 10,000 subscribers.
ActiveCampaign, GetResponse and Constant Contact
ActiveCampaign's pricing page offers a free 14-day trial with email sign-up and shows no free plan. GetResponse offers 14 days with no credit card, and its page shows no US-dollar price.
Constant Contact offers 14 days free with no credit card and backs each new plan with a 30-day guarantee: cancel and get a full refund within 30 days of signing up, under its terms. MailerLite offers no money-back guarantee. It owes a refund only if it ends the service without cause.
What happens when a MailerLite trial ends
Nothing is deleted when the 14 days end. The account reverts to the Free plan, with 250 subscribers, 2,500 emails a month and two seats. Automations with multiple triggers stop until the account moves to Power. Buying Comfort or Power during the trial ends the trial at once.
A new account that signs up with a custom domain may send its first campaigns without domain authentication during the trial, but must authenticate the domain to keep sending after it ends.
In short, MailerLite's version is 14 days of premium features, no credit card, then the Free plan. Pick MailerLite's trial to try premium features on a list of up to 250. Pick Constant Contact's trial if you also want the 30-day money-back guarantee, and Kit's if you want free migration with a paid plan. Best email marketing software covers the tools beyond their trials.
Sources used for this page
The facts above come from the pages below, read on October 6, 2026. Prices and terms change, so confirm them on the vendor's site before you buy.
- Pricing | MailerLite — Vendor pricing page · mailerlite.com · read October 6, 2026
- What is included in MailerLite's 14-day premium trial? — Vendor documentation · mailerlite.com · read October 6, 2026
- MailerLite free plan — Vendor product page · mailerlite.com · read October 6, 2026
- MailerLite refund policy — Vendor documentation · mailerlite.com · read October 6, 2026
- Marketing pricing | Mailchimp (US dollar view) — Vendor pricing page · mailchimp.com · read October 6, 2026
- Pricing | Kit — Vendor pricing page · kit.com · read October 6, 2026
- Pricing | ActiveCampaign — Vendor pricing page · activecampaign.com · read October 6, 2026
- Pricing | GetResponse — Vendor pricing page · getresponse.com · read October 6, 2026
- Pricing | Constant Contact — Vendor pricing page · constantcontact.com · read October 6, 2026